Logo ITI Germany
Zur Projektübersicht


  • Alle Preisträger:innen 2023

    © Dorothea Tuch

  • Performance by Pascal Schmidt

    © Dorothea Tuch

  • Theaterhaus Jena

    © Dorothea Tuch

  • Performance by Aboudi Gon, Pascal Schmidt & Tamae Yoneda

    © Dorothea Tuch

  • Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien Claudia Roth, MdB

    © Dorothea Tuch


    © Dorothea Tuch

  • Chamäleon Berlin

    © Dorothea Tuch

  • Ballhaus Naunynstraße

    © Dorothea Tuch

  • Sivan Ben Yishai

    © Dorothea Tuch

Am 11. Oktober 2023 wurde der
5. Theaterpreis des Bundes verliehen.

Zum fünften Mal wurde der Theaterpreis des Bundes vergeben. Claudia Roth, Staatsministerin für Kultur und Medien, würdigte mittlere und kleinere Theaterbetriebe  – und damit die künstlerische Bandbreite der bundesdeutschen Theaterlandschaft. Die Preisträger:innen zeichnen sich durch eine herausragende künstlerische Vielfalt, modellhafte Betriebsstrukturen, besondere Leistungen zur ästhetischen Weiterentwicklung der darstellenden Künste oder durch innovative Strategien zur Publikumserweiterung aus.

Preisträger:innen 2023

Das Ballhaus Naunynstraße in Berlin wurde von der Jury mit dem 200.000 Euro dotierten Hauptpreis ausgezeichnet. Drei mit jeweils 100.000 Euro dotierte Auszeichnungen erhalten das Theaterhaus Jena in der Kategorie Stadttheater und Landesbühnen, das Chamäleon Theater Berlin in der Kategorie Privattheater und Gastspielhäuser sowie das LOFFT-DAS THEATER in Leipzig in der Kategorie Freie Produktionshäuser. Die Preisverleihung findet am Abend des 11. Oktober 2023 im Haus der Berliner Festspiele statt.

  • Ballhaus Naunynstraße Berlin

    Ballhaus Naunynstraße Berlin

    "The theater in Berlin-Kreuzberg stands for artistic perspectives of color and offers numerous people an important space for reflection on postcolonial structures in everyday life and art. A house like a signal for the diversification of the German theater business: Here, post-migrant voices not only became audible for the first time, but the concept of post-migrant theater as such was invented and coined - the path of a Practice What You Preach in the development of program, audience and staff structures, which the current artistic director Wagner Pereira de Carvalho and his team have been consistently developing for 10 years now in the direction of crossectional diversity not only on, but also behind and in front of the stage. Ballhaus Naunynstraße thus creates a unique framework for the self-determined production of black, queer and artists of color. Ballhaus Naunynstraße has a lasting effect on the development of artistic signatures: Numerous artists have realized their first productions here, and over the years have realized a large number of high-quality works at the Ballhaus, often attracting national and international attention with their art." – Jury statement


  • Theaterhaus Jena

    Theaterhaus Jena

    "The Theaterhaus Jena in Thüringen is convincing both structurally and artistically-aesthetically. The productions of the past seasons seek direct proximity to the urban society, the history of the city and region, and are close to the spirit of the times in the best sense. To this end, the theater regularly opens itself up to other places and social groups: Whether classical cooperations with the philharmonic orchestra, overcoming social barriers with the correctional facility, or participatory productions, as in a lay voice choir project by Jena mothers on the topic of motherhood.

    While others are still discussing the possibilities of transparent sponsorship, collective management and grassroots democratic control, the Theaterhaus Jena has been practicing a model that is unique in Germany for more than 30 years: Theaterhaus Jena is a gGmbH, which is not only owned exclusively by current and former employees* of the house, but also, not least under the direction of the international collective Wunderbaum - and since the 22/23 season by Lizzy Timmers and Maarten van Otterdijk and the model of an ensemblerat theater - lives up to its statutory mission of consistent artistic and structural operational research. " - Jury statement


  • Chamäleon Theater Berlin

    Chamäleon Theater Berlin

    "The spearhead of a dynamic development of the performing arts, which overcomes existing boundaries between genres, but also forms of operation: Like no other house, Theater Chamäleon stands in the middle of Berlin for the further development of circus via Noveau Cirque to a contemporary circus that unfolds its artistic and audience potential in such a way that old questions about U. or E. culture, about sub- or high culture, about fixed or free sublimate into physically perceptible aesthetic energy. The theater's handling of its resident artists during the pandemic was particularly exemplary: despite 18 months of closure, unplannable conditions, and no financial security, the Chameleon turned this time into a new start in terms of content and an artistic incubator for itself, including social security for the international companies, new co-productions and residency programs, as well as an increase in accessibility and audience encounters." – Jury statement




    "Not only in its 25th anniversary year are many eyes focused on this OFF theater in Leipzig, Saxony, Central Germany: The LOFFT stands for aesthetic innovation and artistic inventiveness, for practiced cosmopolitanism and inclusion, but also for a team that not only emphasizes agile work, but also its own professional networking and cultural-political positioning, so much so that the LOFFT is one of the formative and exemplary nodes on the mental map of the independent performing arts. Of particular note among the diverse artistic program is the in-house FORWARD DANCE COMPANY, founded in recent years, in which a mixed-abled ensemble of six dancers works together with changing choreographers. Local promotion of young talent, audience expansion with a special focus on so-called marginalized groups, and guest performances by internationally renowned artists testify to a great awareness of the questions and challenges of our present." – Jury statement


Jury 2023

Über den Theaterpreis des Bundes entschied die Gesamtjury. In den einzelnen Kategorien setzte sich die Jury folgendermaßen zusammen:


  • Categorie City theatre and Landesbühnen

    Categorie City theatre and Landesbühnen

    Nuran David Calis
    Dr. Gunnar Decker
    Anna-Katharina Müller
    Jessica Weisskirchen


  • Category Private Theatres and Guest Theatres

    Category Private Theatres and Guest Theatres

    René Heinersdorff
    Cornelius „Corny“ Littmann
    Theresa Schütz
    Dorothee Starke


  • Category Independent Production Houses

    Category Independent Production Houses

    Nina de la Chevallerie
    Amelie Deuflhard
    Hannah Ma
    Carena Schlewitt



Symposium zum Theaterpreis des Bundes
Pleasures and Politics of Cooperation – Kooperationen gestalten und verhandeln

Das Symposium diskutierte auf bundesweiter und internationaler Ebene das transformative Potential kooperativer Arbeitsformen in den darstellenden Künsten. Welche Effekte können mittel- und langfristige Kooperationen für die Herstellung von Nachhaltigkeit, Augenhöhe und Multiperspektivität haben – und welche Herausforderungen bringen sie mit sich? Weitere Informationen zu den Speaker:innen, dem Programm sowie zum digitalen Programmheft hier.


Der Theaterpreis des Bundes wird von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien verliehen. Projektträger ist das Zentrum Bundesrepublik Deutschland des Internationalen Theaterinstituts e.V. (ITI) in Kooperation mit dem Fonds Darstellende Künste e.V.