Logo ITI Germany
Zur Projektübersicht


The Federal Theatre Prize honours theatre beyond metropolitan cities. All information on the 2021 Federal Theater Award, the #dialograumtheater symposium and the award ceremony can be found here


Felix Sodemann



The Federal Theatre Prize honours theatres that are located outside or on the edges of metropolitan cities. The prize is intended to spotlight the artistic work of these theatres and their dialogue with the local communities, and to provide them with a platform for cultural policy.   

Monika Grütters, State Minister for Culture, awarded the Federal Theatre Prize for the first time in 2015, since then it has been realised every two years in cooperation with the ITI Germany. A total of 31 theatres were honoured in 2015, 2017 and 2019. The Federal Theatre Prize was once again announced in 2021. 

Artistic and cultural-political issues that especially concern the work of municipal, state and touring theatres, as well as independent venues in smaller and medium-sized cities, are discussed as part of a symposium held to accompany the award ceremony. 

In 2020, in cooperation with Theater der Zeit, a publication was released that pays tribute to the work of the previous award-winning theatres, while at the same time highlighting the challenges they face on a daily basis. 

Passende Meldungen